STTLogo

 

 PRESS RELEASE

County tree officer to give talk about his work with trees

 

County Tree Officer Dougald Purce will talk about his work with trees in Shropshire at the next event planned by the Severn Tree Trust.

The talk, on Tuesday January 14 2020, will focus on Tree Preservation Orders and trees in Conservation Areas and will cover the latest legislation regarding tree conservation and protection.

The talk will be held at St Peter’s Church Hall, Monkmoor Road, Shrewsbury, at 7.30pm. Admission to the talk for non-members is £5 including refreshments.

                                    2020  Programme        (click here for downloadable version)

Tuesday 14th January  


Talk:
by Dougald Purce (Tree Officer, Shropshire Council)  "TPO’s and Trees in Conservation Areas" 



Tuesday 11th February
  


AGM
followed by a competition with prizes (TBA)

 
Tuesday 10th March    

 

Talk: by Dael Sassoon (Ph.D. student Manchester University)

"Scots Pine - Are they native to Shropshire?         

      


Saturday 18th April
         


Visit: Dingle Garden, Welshpool

Saturday 10th May   

Visit:
 Telford's Interesting Trees  The remaining 28 not visited in 2019. 

Saturday 13th June        


Visit:  Member April Lay’s Farm.   Wolverley, near Wem


Saturday 11th July          

Visit: The gardens of The Hurst, Nr. Clun.


Sunday 8th August    


Visit:
John Massey’s Private Garden,  Ashwood Nursey, Kingswinford,  DY6  0AE

Saturday 12th September


Visit:
Sansaw Park, Garden  and Estate (part),  Hadnall

 

Saturday 10th  October       

 

Visit: Wyre Forest

 

Tuesday 10th November  


Talk:
by George Peterken. “Lady Park Wood and the idea of Natural Woodland”

NB In University Centre, Frankwell

Tuesday 8th December



Talk:
 By Member Andy Gordon

“Unlocking some of the secrets of tree seeds”