STTLogo

 

 

 

Most meetings will be held in St Peter's Church Hll, Monkmoor Road, Shrewsbury normally starting at 7.30pm.

Non-members are also welcome for a charge of £5 inclusive of tea and biscuits after the talk.

 

             The lecture by Dr Aljos Farjon will be held in the Main Building of the University on Frankwell, also at 7.30pm.

  Visits normally begin at 2.00pm at the venue

                                    2019 Programme        (click here for downloadable version)

Tuesday 8th January  


Presentation 
by Mark Duffell   "Identifying conifers"



Tuesday 12th February
  


AGM
followed by two competitions.  First  Identifying conifers - follow-up to Mark Duffell's talk.

Second  Members own favourite tree pictures (please email your entries to Newsletter Editor 

 

Tuesday 12th March        

 

Talk: By Dr  Aljos Farjon, Research Associate Kew Gardens on

           

             "Ancient Oaks in the English Coutryside"

Saturday 13th April           

Visit to Wenlock Edge:  To see the Ancient Lime trees and Holloways

Saturday 11th May   

Visit:
 Telford's Interesting Trees.  The first 22.  

Saturday 8th June        


Visit:   Winterbourne Gardens, Birmingham 


Saturday 13th July          

Visit:  The Ancient Trees in the Brampton Bryan  

                                  Parkland


Sunday 10th August    


Visit:  The Arley Arboretum,  near Kidderminster

 

Saturday 14th September


Visit:  The Bodenham Arboretum, near Kidderminster

Saturday 12th  October       


Visit: John Ravenscroft's Cherry Orchard Arboretum

                                    near Woore

 

Tuesday 12th November  


Talk:
 By Dr Graham Piearce.  New Caledonia: A  

                  Dendrologist's Treasure Island

                            University Centre Frankwell

Tuesday 10th December


Talk:
 By Peter Aspin Silvopastoral Agroforestry